Confirmed Shortlist

I am pleased to announce this years Fresher Writing Prize Shortlist!

Well Done to everyone who entered and got involved, we really do appreciate it. This year there were so many amazing entires it took our team of dedicated readers a long time to come up with this final list.

SpaceToWrite13For those of you who didn’t get shortlisted, please don’t feel disheartened. There is always a chance to enter the competition next year to try and win some incredible prizes.

So, this years shortlist is as follows:


Frank Podmore

Janet Walker

Jessica Beange

Nicole Millian




Victoria Patch

Louise Jones

Ralph Wahlstrom

Katie Gillingham

Julia Watts

Jessica McComish

Amanda Jane

Sean Watkin

Joe Dornich

Ian Logan

Helen Morris

Michelle Blair Wilker

Dianne Bown

Nathan Feuerberg

James Smith

Arthur Bienfait

Michael Harper

Adam Blampied

Elvin Mensah

Jessica Kennedy

Ambika Thompson


Creative non-fiction

Sarah Goudge

Jerome Goerke


Writing Wizardy (children’s short story)

Daisy Mitcham-Harding

Delphi Phillips

Tia Finch